Year(s) to Explore and Learn, Create and Do

As mentioned in a prior post, I’m taking great strides to slow down. This is already a difficult feat without the context of a big life fail bearing down, so one can imagine the panic that ensued when I woke up during the middle of the night and realized that slowing down for one year meant slowing down for two. Talk about being caught off guard.

Throughout the past week I’ve decided to look at this situation more objectively, from the perspective of ‘you have a year (er, two) to explore and learn, create and do…embrace it.

As such, I’ve begun to create a list of things that I want to accomplish during this slow down time. Here is what I have so far:

*The Search/Visit Korea
*Learn basic Korean
*Research grad schools/programs/faculty
*Study and take the GRE
*Research something that captures my interest (ideally, it would lead to a great research paper/writing sample…but if it leads another direction, I’m okay with that.)
*Become proficient at Photoshop
*Learn how to remix audio
*Learn about HTML/CSS
*Take a pottery class
*Make a really neat and fun video
*Contribute something good to the world
*Learn more about bikes (how they’re built, parts, etc.) and bike culture (laws, infrastructure, etc.)
*Learn to knit

The items in bold are the tasks that will occur throughout the year(s), and the remaining tasks are things that I’ve wanted to do, but just haven’t had time for. In essence, I want to spend the year(s) doing things that I’m passionate about: learning and creating.

Leave a Reply

